Image

Daniela Frongia (aka, Cais) currently lives in London, UK where she works as a freelance illustrator. She was born in Cagliari, Italy in 1979. By the age of 4 she was already showing a passion and talent for drawing, inspired by the colorful style of the Disney classics and later Manga. She studied and obtained a degree from the Art School. Next she dedicated herself to mastering airbrush technique on Bikers and then focused on digital graphics. Her first art exhibitions on canvas occurred in the diverse galleries of London when she moved there in 2009. In 2010 she made the decision to dedicate herself to illustrating children’s books and she now collaborates with authors and publishers from all around the world.

http://www.caisairbrush.com/

Image

What made you decide to become an artist when you were young?

“Since I was 4 my passion was drawing everything  with different techniques, I guess I just followed my own path”

How did you develop your style? Did you find artwork you liked and try to create visuals in a similar style?

“I think copying  the style that you like more, is the main road to find a personal style. My research began with classic illustration, and then passed first to manga and Disney style after. My own style now is a mix of these.”

Image

What do you find most challenging about creating artwork for others? Do you look for specific direction? Or are you happy to work strictly from your own imagination?

“The challenge is tocreate the illustrations exactly as the author was imaging when he or she was writing  the story. I read many stories, but sometimes it can be so difficult and tedious create the right one. I prefer to draw based on my imagination, no doubt, but many authors and publishers usually want to describe the scene before  I draw. I think this attitude blocks the artist a bit, and his or her way of expressing.”

Image

Many artists say that they couldn’t imagine doing anything else with their lives. Do you feel the same way?

“In a way yes; in my life I’ve had different jobs but I put a bit of art in them. I never lost my artist side only because instead of a piece of paper I had a computer, a helmet or a cake.”

 Image

Are there artists whose work you admire, and why?

“I particularly admire the Japanese artists.  Studio Ghibli is one of my favorites, they can create true art works.  Japanese masters have indescribable patience for details that I admire and that it’s hard to duplicate.”

 

 

